Wee wonder Shields takes latest title after count back drama

Share this article

HAWICK Golf Club’s wee wonders took to the fairways last Thursday and produced another impressive competition.

A field of 30 players were entered in what turned out to be an excellent evening of golf.

Young Callum Shields came out on top from a count back of the best last two holes after scoring 20 shots.

The unlucky second place went to Jack Linton, who also scored 20. Robbie McLean took the bronze medal with a round of 21 after another count back of the best last two holes, just edging it ahead of Zara Middlemass and Fraser Clyne.

Liam Smith showed up well with a round of 22 along with Kieran Murphy, while there were good rounds of 23 from Paul Brunton and Ali Gray.

The next wee wonders competition will take place on Thursday, July 21.

n HAWICK: Ladies Centenary Cup – 1, Susan Coltman 39pts; 2, Margaret Morrison 34pts; 3=, Pearl Leithead 31pts and Rhona Suddon 31pts.

Only five players participated in each of the Ladies Finals: Championship – Judith Anderson, Laura Neish, Ailsa Mitchell, Fiona Turnbull and Anne Teague. Silver – Pearl Leithead, Wendy Underhill, Shona Cavers, Laura Spalding and Jan Young. Ladies Open – 1 Mags Morrison 75-(7)-68; 2, Fay Robson 89-(19)-70; 3, Fiona Turnbull 88-(17)-71. Scratch – Judith Anderson 76. Senior – C. Thom (Minto) 71. Nearest the pin at 8th – Ailsa Mitchell.

n MINTO: Gents Tuesday Stableford (No 5) Tuesday June 7 – 1, B. Howden 46pts; 2, A. Craggs 43pts; 3, I. Elliot 41pts.

Gents Tuesday (No 6) Tuesday June 14 – 1, J. Daley 44pts; 2, D. Richardson 43pts; 3, I. Lister 42pts.

The Gents Summer Competition on Saturday June 18 was cancelled due to the course being waterlogged, it has now been re-scheduled for tomorrow and the Jim Ingles will now be played at a later date.

Ladies Charity Stableford Monday June 13 (CSS 70) – 1, Mary Hart 38pts; 2, Iris Fletcher 37pts (BIH); 3, Viv Fairbairn 37 pts.

Congratulations to Iris Fletcher who had a hole-in- one on the 17th.

Ladies Medal (No. 3) Wednesday June 15 (CSS 71) – Silver Division: Handicap – Joyce Corbett 91 (19) 72. Scratch – Myra Johnston 90 (BIH). Bronze Division: Handicap – Ellen Learmonth 90 (25) 65. Scratch – Flora Kerr 94 (BI6)

Overall Medal winner – Ellen Learmonth.