Selectors plump for 50 all-time greatest Greens

Scott MacLeod, seen here playing for Scotland against Wales, is among the Hawick selectors' all-time top 50 Greens players
Scott MacLeod, seen here playing for Scotland against Wales, is among the Hawick selectors' all-time top 50 Greens players

THEY have discussed, deliberated and debated and the selectors have reduced Hawick’s Greatest Ever Team down to just 50 players, writes Gavin Gibbon.

The panel, which is made up of Sandy and Nick Bannerman, Alan McCredie, Kenny McCartney and Jack Hegarty, have met on a number of occasions to pore over the many candidates for the Greens’ greatest side.

Extensive research has been carried out to enable the panel to reach their final 50.

Their attentions have taken in the last 140 years and include 700 players from the Second World War alone and 68 who have gained international honours.

Sandy said: “It’s been a fascinating experience.”

Supporters have been challenged to match their selection of 15 players plus five replacements and a coach. And if their line-up matches that of the panel, they will receive two places at the ‘best ever’ team presentation dinner in September.

Among the 50 to be whittled down for the final squad is a choice of four full-backs: Willie Forrest, Johnny Gray, David Cranston and Stuart Hogg.

Alan said: “Some people will automatically think of Stuart, but he only made nine appearances for Hawick in 15s and he’s not liable to make any more unless he comes back to finish his career here.”

Another area of the pitch where there is great competition is the middle row where Ian Barnes is listed alongside Sal Campbell, Jack Hegarty, Alan Tomes and Scott MacLeod.

Sandy added: “It’s not necessarily about who went on to play for Scotland or the British Lions or who had the most caps.

“It’s not going to please everyone and it’ll upset a few but we genuinely believe our selections would have created the greatest Hawick team.”

Entry forms, which cost £3 or £5 for two, can be bought from Bannerman Burke or Brydon’s. They can also be downloaded from the Hawick RFC website.

All entries should be sent to the president at Hawick RFC or lodged with Bannerman Burke by September 13.

The celebratory dinner will be held on September 27 when the greatest team will be unveiled.

The selectors’ final 50 is as follows:

Full back: W.T Forrest; J.Gray; D.Cranston; S.Hogg.

Winger: W.D Jackson; A.G Stanger; W.R Sutherland; N.Walker; W.R. Scott.

Centre: R.G. Charters; A.G Cranston; J.M Renwick; G.D Stevenson; R.B Welsh.

Stand-off: J.N.G Davidson; C.M Telfer; C.Gass; D.Broatch.

Scrum-half: M.Elliot; K.Reid; R.Corbett; R.G Turnbull; H.Whitaker.

Prop: D.S Davies; W.E Kyle; H.F McLeod; N.Suddon; N.Pender; S.Coltman.

Hooker: C.T Deans; J.A Hay; R.Grieve.

Middle row: I.A Barnes; J.A Beattie; A.J Campbell; J.J Hegarty; W.J Hunter; A.J Tomes; S.M McLeod.

Wing forward: D.Grant; A.Robson; D.D Valentine; W.B Welsh; D.J Turnbull; W.Davies.

No 8: T.O Grant; P.Hogarth; S.K McGaughey; G.Lyall; D.McLeod.

Coach: R.Charters; D.Grant; I.Barnes and P.Leck.

Remember that the substitutes are selected for a match situation not near misses.