Revealed: the greatest ever Greens

Colin Deans, seen here during a Scotland training session in 1987, has been picked to skipper Hawick's greatest ever team
Colin Deans, seen here during a Scotland training session in 1987, has been picked to skipper Hawick's greatest ever team
Share this article

COLIN Deans has been chosen to captain the Greatest Ever Hawick XV.

The former Scotland and British Irish Lions hooker was selected in the side, which was revealed at a glittering dinner event at Mansfield Park this evening.

He is joined by other club stalwarts such as Jim Renwick at centre; Tony Stanger on the wing; Colin Telfer at stand-off; and Harry Whittaker at scrum-half. While Sean McGaughey, Alan Tomes, Jock

Beattie and Hugh McLeod are among the forwards.

Current darling of the Scottish rugby set-up, Stuart Hogg, is chosen at full-back, while Derrick Grant takes his place at wing forward and as the club’s greatest ever coach.

Greens supporters were invited to contribute their own greatest XV, but ultimately it was down to the selection panel of Sandy and Nick Bannerman, Alan McCredie, Kenny McCartney and Jack Hegarty, who chose the final 20-man squad.

Hawick president Rory Bannerman said: “Looking back over more than 140 years of wonderful exploits from the Green Machine has thrown up some mouth-watering combinations and has led to some eye-watering debates.

“Competition entries to select that team have flooded in from as far afield as Western Australia, South Africa, Glasgow and England.

“In truth there could have been two or three fifteens chosen that would have beaten all before them from the top 50 or so names that the selectors whittled the list down to.

“Players from championship-winning sides have been selected to grace the team alongside British Lions, brave stalwarts of the club and those who made their names playing rugby league after they left the ranks of the Robbie Dyes.”

In total, there are more than 400 caps between the men selected.

Mr Bannerman added: “The team boast players from practically every decade of the last 100 years and is a testament not only to the great players that they were, and are, but to a club who are more proud, more followed and more successful than any other in Scottish rugby.”

The team is as follows:

15 Stuart Hogg

14 Wattie Sutherland

13 Jim Renwick

12 George Stevenson

11 Tony Stanger

10 Colin Telfer

9 Harry Whitaker

8 Sean McGaughey

7 Derrick Grant

6 Dave Valentine

5 Alan Tomes

4 Jock Beattie

3 Doug Davies

2 Colin Deans (captain)

1 Hugh Mcleod


16 Norman Suddon

17 Willie Welsh

18 Glen Turnbull

19 David Cranston