Linden to stage third annual sevens tourney

The third Hawick Linden Sevens takes place at Volunteer Park, tomorrow (Saturday), when St Boswells will return to defend the trophy they won last year.

The eight competing teams are split into two groups of four. Pool A consists of Hawick Harlequins, Selkirk, Langholm and Berwick, with Pool B made up of Hawick Linden, Jed-Forest, St Boswells and Penicuik.

The event is sponsored by Desport and Gray (Flooring Specialists), with medals provided by the family of the late Billy Russell, past-president and life member of the Linden.

The teams will be playing for the Life Members’ Cup, while also up for grabs is the player of the tournament trophy, donated by Moira Black, which was won last year by Ryan Hogg of St Boswells.

The first tie between Hawick Harlequins and Selkirk takes place at 12.30pm, with the final scheduled for 5.15pm.

Admission is £5 for adults, £2 for OAPs and under-16s free.