Hawick fall to clinical Gala

editorial image

Hawick’s BT Premiership campaign continues to stutter after yesterday’s 15-10 loss to Gala in a feisty battle at Netherdale.

The Greens produced a mixed bag, turning the bigger Maroons around all afternoon with penetrative kicks while enjoying long possession spells, but the hosts, coming off a dominant opening weekend win over Selkirk, took their chances when it counted, outscoring the Green two tries to one.

A bumper crowd watched an entertaining first half that although lacking the typical Borders ferocity or fireworks, included plenty of expansive rugby and saw Gala take a 10-3 lead into the break.

David O’Hagan scored all of the Maroons’ points through a penalty, which cancelled out an earlier Lee Armstrong place-kick, and a converted touchdown after the stand-off managed to pick off a wayward pass from young Teri lock Finlay Simpson.

Both sides were down to 14 men at half-time after Hawick prop Wullie Blacklock and Gala second row Craig Borthwick were both shown yellow cards.

Following the break, the Greens rediscovered their big-play ability when Keith Davies finished off a great move by scrum-half Greg Cottrell, who had weaved his way through midfield before the big number eight touched down. Armstrong added the extras to level the scores at 10-10.

Hawick’s second half surge, however, took a turn when Craig Charters was sent to the sin bin for a professional foul on O’Hagan who was baring down on the Greens try-line. Gala went for touch with the subsequent penalty but squandered the chance by spilling the ball over the line.

The hosts lost full-back Ruardth Howarth after a dangerous challenge on Cottrell, but eventually managed to pull away in the final 15 minutes, earning style points through Dwain Burrows, who finished off a well-worked charge to complete the 15-10 victory.

The five-point defeat left the Greens with a bonus-point for their efforts but still searching for their first win of the campaign.

Hawick: L. Armstrong, N. Walker, W. Griebnow, J. Coutts, C. Russell, R. Hutton, G. Cottrell, S. Muir, R. Graham, N. Little, C. Charters, F. Simpson, B. McNeil, R. Scott, K. Davies. Replacements: L. Gibson, W. Blacklock, N. Mactaggart, S. Goodfellow, N. Renwick.