Speed star Dean proud to clinch Hislop trophy

John Dean Jnr on his way to glory
John Dean Jnr on his way to glory

Hawick race ace John Dean Jnr scorched his way to a stunning victory in the annual Steve Hislop Memorial Trophy as another Scottish motorcycle season came to an end at East Fortune Race Circuit.

The finale was the Steve Hislop Memorial Trophy race, won for the first time by Dean Jnr, with Adam Lyon of Kilcreggan runner-up and Richard Stanbury of Duns in third place.

The prestigious trophy was presented by Steve Hislop’s mum, Margaret, who had travelled up from Denholm especially for the presentation. She was thrilled that the trophy was going back to the family’s home town of Hawick.

Perfect weather conditions all weekend had contributed to some fast and furious racing with a few spills keeping the track marshals busy, especially during the last race of the weekend for Saturday’s fastest 36 riders which was red-flagged during the opening lap and was restarted with the full 17 laps being completed.

The four Superbike races were won decisively by pole-sitter Dean, who had already secured the 2016 Scottish Championship several weeks ago, with Des Burns winning the Superbike Cup.

Dean also became the very proud recipient of the Steve Hislop Memorial Trophy which will be very welcome in Hawick, the home town of the Hislop family.

During the presentation of the trophy and prize money, resident trackside commentator Ian ‘Mose’ Hutchinson paid tribute to Hislop, reminding the gathered spectators that Hizzy was an 11-times TT race winner who started his race career at East Fortune, going on to become Scottish and British Champion.

Spectators heard a very emotional Dean saying, during an interview with Mose, that having his name on that trophy will mean the world to him. Steve Hislop was his hero for many years and during his 1 years of racing he’s always had his sights set on getting his name on the trophy.

All four Scottish Lightweights’ races were won by Haddington’s Paul McClung, who had earlier qualified in pole position, with Lewis Paterson finishing runner-up in all four races. McClung had secured the championship several race meetings ago.