Round the bowling greens

editorial image
Share this article


THE senior men travelled to high-flying Wilton last Tuesday for a league game, and it was the hosts who recorded a seven-shot win over a determined Buccleuch side. Best for the visitors were E. Barker, K. Lyle and F. Spalding (skip).

THE following day, the men’s side were in league action at home to Lauder in the last game of the season, with the hosts in with a shout of promotion if they could get the win. A much-changed Buccleuch side pulled out all the stops in a bid to gain the victory, but it was the visitors who found the pace and raced into an early lead.

The home side clawed their way back into contention, but with Lauder five shots up and with one end to go it looked to be all over. However, Buccleuch’s best rink on the night, that of E. Barker, C. Easton, B. Gray and K. Graham (skip), made it an exciting climax, winning the last end by five shots to tie the match at 57 shots apiece.

LAST Thursday saw the club host the annual visit from the Leadgate club of County Durham, and it was the turn of the visitors to take the match, winning all six rinks with a final score of 143 shots to 94. Best for Buccleuch were K. Neil, S. Harris, J. Jackson and D. Turnbull (skip).

LAST Friday, the men suffered a heavy defeat at the hands of Hawick in the Inverteviot, played on the neutral Wilton green. Buccleuch lost all but one rink and overall by 89 shots to 61. Their top squad comprised D. Neil, A. Martin, B. Gray and W. Thomson (skip) 21-10.

THE ladies held their pairs competition last Sunday, and after a two-course meal with wine, the final was contested, with Helen Megahy and Caroline Hogarth notching a convincing victory over Mary Johnson and Mary Martin.

TOMORROW (Saturday) sees the ex-presidents’ invitational, and this popular round-robin tournament will be followed by a buffet meal and dancing to Tripswitch.


The seniors were away to Selkirk/Ettrick Forrest last Tuesday, when the host side recorded a convincing win by 71 shots to 41. Top squad for the Hawick side was the G. Lyall-skipped rink. Details: D. Weir 7 G. Lyall 20; T. Brown 17 A. Wilson 8; D. Macleod 31 J. H. Gray 7; D. Carrurthers 16 A. T. Anderson 14.

Last Wednesday saw the ‘A’ team securing the divison two title with an 89 shots to 75 victory at Stow in what was their final game of the season. Colin Spalding emerged as top skip for Hawick. Details: T. Stewart 14 N. Amos 21; W. Frew 19 M. Christy 12; I. Swan 18 G. Scott 16; D. Tait 14 B. Anderson 20; B. Smith 10 C. Spalding 20.


THE second last league game of the season was contested last Wednesday night when the five-rink ‘A’ team played host to Abbotsford.

The home side were six shots in front after seven of the 17-end match (34-28). However, by the completion of 14 heads the visitors had taken a nine-shot lead (58-67), and over the concluding part of the contest Abbotsford added 21 shots to only nine by the West Stewart Place outfit to make the final tally 67-89 for the visitors.

The only winning squad for the hosts was John Smyth, Malcolm Scott, Stuart Anderson and Alan Brady (skip) and they won the sweep. Details: R. Taylor 12 J. Purves 15; A. J. Kyle 11 T. Mann Jnr 16; C. Macdougall 16 G. Bowers 21; C. Sutherland 9 B. Anderson 26; A. Brady 19 J. Manczak 11.

THE area four triples play-off was held at Hawick on Saturday, and it was Wilton trio of John Smyth, Bill Jaffray and Reece Taylor (skip) Wilton who were successful.

Also on Saturday, the area four rinks play-off took place on the Wilton green, with the host club’s Bruce Millar (sub Eddie Pollard), Mark Hogarth, Andrew J. Kyle and Colin Sutherland (skip) defeating Ronnie Nichol, Alistair Taylor, David Smart and Alan Waugh (skip).

The Border finals will be contested at Earlston on Saturday, August 24, at 10am.

WILTON’S Graham Brownlee was in the four-rink Border over-60 side that won the Matt Purdie Trophy at Armadale on Monday when they defeated Midlothian.

An excellent entry of 28 combinations was forward for Sunday’s Australian Pairs, which was contested as a round-robin of three games of eight ends with players interchanging after every two bowls played until all ‘woods’ were delivered.

In the quarter-finals, Danny Reed and Steven Watson from Dalston defeated Jedburgh’s Greg Nagle and Euan Lindores; Alan Waugh and Andrew Kyle overcame Jock Elliot and Ricky Paterson; Davy Reid and Michael Notman lost out to Irene Bennett and Stuart Anderson; and Hawick pair Simon Spalding and Kirk Ford were defeated by Michael and John Smyth.

The semi-final between Michael and John Smyth and Bennett and Anderson was won by the latter duo with a score of 13-2; while the other semi was a much closer affair with Reed and Watson edging out Waugh and Kyle by six shots to five.

After four of the eight-end final, Bennett and Anderson led by five shots to four, with the game then peeled at 6-6 by the finish of the seventh head. At the final end, the first-named gained the winning shot to 6 to clinch a tremendous 7-6 victory.

Vice-president Alistair Taylor thanked tournament sponsor Anne Beveridge for her support and gave a vote of thanks.