Golf leaderboard

editorial image

Hawick: Keith Suddon Winter League – Saturday, October 5: 1, G. Brown 35pts; 2, L. Berridge 34 (bih). Saturday, October 12: 1, C. Jardin 36 (bih); 2, D. Gibson 36; 3, A. C. Ried 35 (bih). From November 2 there will be prizes for nearest the pins on the par 3’s and competitions will be run over Saturdays and Sundays.

MINTO: A strong Tantallon team recently beat Minto Seniors on the windswept dunes of North Berwick. The Minto Senior Gents who have, nonetheless, had a very good season, hope to finish on a high in their final match against Goswick.

Minto was represented by Pim McDonnell, Iain Oliver, Albert Thompson and Mouse White in the Borders Seniors Inter Club Competition played at Innerleithen. In a creditable performance, the Minto team came fourth out of nine.

John Law, the Seniors’ convenor, won this year’s Council Trophy with 38 Stableford points, one point clear of Angus Towers and Jock Rae, with

Angus taking second place on countback. In fourth place was Joseph Flynn, the leading junior in the competition.

With one week’s competitive play left, the position at the top of the Seniors’ League is very tight. Duncan Shiell continues to occupy the top slot with 78 points but is being closely challenged by Patrick Brooks with 74.5 points. No-one else is close enough to win the league, so it’s down to these two in the last round.

Members of the Minto Ladies’ Committee, led by the Ladies’ captain, Lesley Moore, visited Longhirst Golf Club near Morpeth for an end-of-summer

season outing. On this occasion the Ladies’ vice-captain, Gill Cartwright, emerged the winner. Minto Ladies marked the beginning of the winter season with a very enjoyable outing to the Hirsel Golf Club. Susan Law, Lesley Manson and Kaija Sanford won the team competition, with Flora Kerr, Joan McLaren and Anne Paterson in second place. The two nearest-the-pin competitions were won by Anne Paterson and Marilyn Adams.

Sena Paterson had an outstanding end to the season in the Billy Hughes Memorial Team Trophy. Playing with Gary McDonagh, Iain Oliver and Barry

Scott, she holed putts for three of the six birdies on the team’s card and on the 17th hole had her first ever hole-in-one, thus helping the team to a gross score of 61, net 56.5.

Ladies’ three-club competition winner was Lynn Bruce.