Golf leaderboard

editorial image

HAWICK: The ladies enjoyed beautiful weather for their recent annual trip, which this year saw them teeing off at the Westerwood Golf and Country Hotel, near Cumbernauld.

On the Saturday they played for the ‘Purple Jacket’ which was won by Elaine Millar with 32 points (bih); with Shiela Crowford runner-up.

The Sunday saw the staging of the ‘MANB’ competition and this was even more tightly fought for with three players emerging with 30 points. The winner was Lorraine Scott; 2, Pearl Leithead (bl3); 3, Elaine Millar.

There will be no competiton for breast cancer awareness this year, however, there is a box on the bar in the clubhouse and donations will be gratefully received. There is also a coffee morning in Trinity church hall, tomorrow (Saturday), from 10am to noon. Donations welcomed for the cake and candy and book stalls and the raffle. Would all members try to donate something or ‘butter up the wife’ to bake something. This would be greatly appreciated. Or even come along to help or have a coffee.

MINTO: Seniors’ league positions at September 30: 1, D. Shiell 75 points; 2, A. Muir 66; 3, J. Law 62.5.

The senior gents lost their match against Peebles last Thursday, but now look forward to their last two fixtures against Tantallon on North Berwick West Championship Links and at Berwick-upon-Tweed Golf Club, Goswick.

Ladies’ Medal Number No7, October 6: Silver – M. Glendinning nett 75. Scratch – L. Moore 90. Bronze – M. Towers nett 74. Scratch – M. Bland 105.

This season’s fine weather has been matched by some sparkling golf from the club’s large group of up-and-coming juniors, and a special mention goes to Tara Mactaggart, who joined her fellow honorary Minto member Lesley Atkins in the Scottish girls’ team for the home internationals in England in August.

The most improved player was Lily Towers, who has seen her handicap fall from 45 to 16 in the space of six months, and she has only just turned 11 years old!

Any youngster is welcome to join the Clubgolf programme, with the only requirements being enthusiasm and the ability to walk six holes!

Minto is also involved in Scottish Borders Council’s Active Schools programme.

Minto handicap secretary Mary Towers, who holds the PGA level one advanced qualification, has held informal lunch-time and after-school sessions at Lilliesleaf and Denholm schools. Using clubs with oversized heads and soft balls, enthusiastic newcomers to the game have soon developed their golf skills and had fun at the same time.

The recent end-of-season tournament, with 29 juniors taking part in four categories, showed the healthy state of junior golf at the club and the benefits of regular competitive play.

After the tournament, club captain Ron Elliot presented the season’s prizes, and this year’s junior captain, Rory Latta, thanked the bar and catering staff for keeping the juniors fed with chips and cheese after each Friday evening session and also complimented the greens staff on the excellent condition of the course. Angus Towers, junior convenor, thanked all the members of the club, and other sponsors, who had generously donated prizes for the juniors.

For information about the junior section or the Clubgolf programme, contact Angus Towers on 870507.

Prize-giving results: Beginners – C. Farquarson.

Ten holes (150 yards) – 1, S. Allott 41; 2, L. Nichol 42; 3 A. Flynn 51; 4 Sophie Allott 52.

Ten holes (blue tees) – 1, C. Patterson 39; 2, L. Brown 49; 3, M. Richards 51; 4, O. Cranston 53; 5, S. Patterson 57

Handicap – 1, C. Campbell 62; 2, L. Towers 65; 3 F. Towers 72. Scratch – R. Latta 75.

Season’s trophy winners: Three-club champion – R. Latta. Kenneth Oliver Trophy – F. Lothian. Outing Cup – R. Nichol. Stuart and Paula Aitchison Memorial Trophy – R. Latta. Gordons Trophy – R. Latta. Mitchell Salver – L. Towers. Summer Competitions – R. Nichol. Eclectic Competition – J. Flynn. Hole Cup – R. Nichol. Chips ’n’ Cheese League – L. Towers. ‘A’ champion – R. Latta. ‘B’ champion – F. Towers. Six-hole ‘A’ champion – F. Campbell. Six-hole ‘B’ champion – H. Patterson. Most improved player – L. Towers.