‘Class act’ for games sprint

Dylan Ali
Dylan Ali

The Borders athletics bandwagon rolls into town tomorrow (Sunday) with the staging of Hawick Games at Volunteer Park, writes John Slorance.

Looking ahead to a packed progamme of races, Hawick Games chairman David Grieve said: “Cameron Tindle is going to be running in the sprint. He won the Earlston sprint last week, and he’s a class runner who will be well worth watching.

“The entry has been good for the sprint and the same for the other senior races.

“There is also a full card of youths’ events including a 100m championship.

“In the youths’ 400m, the winner will receive the Gordon Irvine Memorial Trophy, which is in honour of Gordon who was a great follower of the games.

The main Hawick hope to take the top event on the card, the 110m handicap, which has a winning purse of £1,000, is high-flying Dylan Ali.

Representing the recently founded Hawick Sprint Club, Ali more than caught the eye in the 90m handicap at Earlston Games at the weekend.

A strong and stylish runner, he buzzed to victory in his heat and cross-tie. Come the final, Ali gained second place when being edged out by victor Tindle who won by a metre.

Teenager Ali, who runs off 6.5m, could well be the man to gain the bragging rights on his home track.

Hawick’s John Paxton, who won last year’s sprint, is on 18.5m, while other local sprinters getting down on their marks are Jack Wilson (13.5m), Matthew Bell (14m), Glyn Desport (9.5m), Leon Ali (11m), Drew Bryson (25.5m), David Hush (24.5m), Daniel Elliot (11m), Corey Wilson (16.5m), David Lauder (15m) and Gordon McPherson (15m).

In the 800m handicap, Hawick will be represented by Rory Anderson (50m), Kyle Potts (70m), Jordan Taylor (70m), Derek Scott (110m), Ged Smith (120m) and Gary Law (160m).

Local youngsters who are set to run in the youths’ 90m ‘A’ and ‘B’ handicaps are Kay Robertson (24m), Nicky Sutherland (27m), Ellis Mckean (24m), Sean McMichan (22m), Harry Fowler (24m), Tom Huggan (18m), Cian Riddell (20m), Ryan McMichan (24m), Keeley Womack (19m), Phillipa Robertson (10m), Amy Campbell (13m), Nicole Campbell (13m), Ronan McKean (7m) and Fraser Clyne (15m).