Spirited Hawick Waverley go down to ‘better side’

editorial image

Hawick Waverley, bidding to make it three wins on the trot, were beaten by a more than useful Jed outfit in Tuesday night’s Division ‘A’ clash.

Reflecting on his side’s showing in the Wilton Lodge Park encounter, Waverley player-manager Neal McConnell told the Hawick News: “We were never at the races in the first half. There were no pass marks for us and we just stood off Jed.

“In the second half, however, we showed a bit of character. Even when three goals down, we never gave up and we can take something positive out of that.

“Jed were the better side, though, and deserved their win.”

Waverley were first to look like scoring. On collecting a Scott Craig pass, Jordan Yardley shook off a challenge before driving in a shot that Legion keeper Sean Jack did well to block.

Waverley number one Kerr Brown then excelled when diving full length to tip a Sean Clark drive round the post.

A goal was only delayed, though, and shortly afterwards, Jed took the lead when Gillan polished off a sweeping raid by slotting home a low cross from the left flank.

After Jack had denied Waverley and equaliser in pulling off an excellent save from a Yardley free-kick, Legion edged further ahead in the 31st minute. Nathan Gillie tore a gap in the home rearguard before slipping a pass to Clark who beat Brown with a shot that entered the net off the post.

With Waverley at sixes and sevens, Legion were in command, and Gillie had a shot well saved by Brown, following another piercing run.

Kyle Finlayson then almost scored with a header from a Clark corner-kick.

Two minutes in to the second half, man-of-the-match Gillie produced the scoring touch with a perfectly-struck free-kick that sailed into the roof of the net.

Falling three goals behind turned out to be a wake-up call for Waverley. But although they began to pick up their game, they ended up with nothing top show for their efforts.

Hawick Waverley: K. Brown, J. Richardson, S. Craig, D. Hope, N. McConnell, R. Cairns, B. Rayson, P. Gellaitry, S. Drysdale, J. Yardley, A. Campbell. Subs: C. Richardson, A. King, S. Sharkey, C. Dunne.