Cricketers pick up awards

editorial image
Share this article

Hawick & Wilton Cricket Club held its end-of-season presentation night in the clubrooms on Saturday evening.

Chaired by president Bruce Mactaggart, the assembled audience enjoyed resumes of the season from East of Scotland XI vice-captain Phil Mactaggart, standing in for skipper Lee Stewart, and Border League captain Pierce Solley.

They were also entertained by guest speaker Malcolm Grant’s recollections of his times playing for the club and he also congratulated all involved in their youth cricket work which was providing a wealth of talented players now making their mark in the 1st XI.

Allan Moffat was in charge of various awards and, in the junior section, best batter was won by Harris Brogan, best bowler – Greg Johnston and player of the year – Evan Alexander. In the senior categories, there were new awards for best fielder – Phil Mactaggart, and most sixes during the season – Allan Moffat with 10. Best bowler – Ronan Alexander, best batsman – Allan Moffat, most improved/major contribution – Pierce Solley, while Stuart Hair was the popular choice as players’ player of the year.