New presidents for 1514 Club and Mosstroopers

ANDREW Johnson is the new president of the 1514 Club.

The former Linden captain succeeded previous incumbent Dougie Rae in the role at the club’s annual general meeting.

He said: “Not in my wildest dreams did I ever think this would be a possibility.

“It’s a great honour and I will try to carry on in the footsteps of other presidents who have led this fine club.”

Mr Johnson has worked for Borders College for 13 years in the construction and rural industries faculty at the Newtown St Boswells campus.

His vice-president is David Brand.

Ex-Cornets Greg McLeod and Craig Rogerson were re-elected onto the committee, while Kenny King is a new recruit.

Plans were also discussed as to the celebrations of this, the 50th year of the club, with an additional dinner in October suggested as well as the traditional Burns supper and 1514 dinner.

Meanwhile, Alan Brydon is the new president of the Mosstroopers.

He took over the reins from Ex-Acting Father Terry Scott at the recent annual general meeting.

He said: “The Ancient Order of Mosstroopers is very close to my heart and I’m immensely proud and grateful to have been given the opportunity to be president of this historic club.”

This year’s Acting Father Grahame Nichol was elected vice-president, while Doug Telfer and Ex-Acting Father Alan Graham remain as secretary and treasurer respectively.

The remaining committee members are: Jim Davidson, John Tait, Ex-Cornet George Young, Ex-Cornet Rory Culton, Gordon Short and Cameron Kyle.

The new committee members are: Ex-Cornet Steven Anderson, Cameron Knox and Jamie McHugh.

The club thanked retiring members Drew Glendinning, Ian ‘High Tower’ Scott, and past-president Dr Doug Rolland for their hard work.

At the meeting a letter was read out from past-president Jim Hogg, who was injured during this year’s Roberton ride-out and who remains in hospital in Glasgow. In it he thanked fellow Mosstroopers and friends in Hawick for their good wishes.