New look community council given injection of new members

A NEW Hawick Community Council has been declared following a successful by-election which attracted 13 members of the public.

The bi-annual plea for local residents to nominate themselves to represent the town on the voluntary body – and pass views onto organisations such as Scottish Borders Council, MHS Borders and the Scottish Executive – has been hailed a success, with several new faces, and familiar faces successfully signing up.

In stark contrast to the previous election two years ago when the community council was forced to disband for a period of six months following a lack of numbers, only two of the 15 places available have not been filled.

The 13 members are: Robert Brydon, West Port; Helen Ford, Slitrig Crescent; Wilson George, Green Terrace; John Hope, Mayfield Drive; James Matthews, Gladstone Street; Andrew Maybury, Howdenbank; David Nuttal, Deloraine Court; Kenneth Oliver, Wilton Hill Terrace; Andrew O’Mara, Hazelwood Court; Daniel Richardson, Mayfield Park; Evelyn Sangster, Dovecote Mews; Marion Short, Heronhill Bank; and Lorraine Wilson, Crumhaughhill Road.

The new-look Community Council, which disbanded for the elections in September, will be up and running again when it meets on Tuesday, October 25. During this meeting members will be briefed on their responsibilities and nominations will be invited for the positions of chairman, vice-chairman, secretary and treasurer.

Returning Officer, Councillor Stuart Marshall said: “I am delighted that so many community-minded people have come forward to join the council. It’s heartening to see some new faces coming on board also – many of whom come with experience, having served the community on various other organisations in recent years.”

The inaugural meeting will take place at 6.30pm, in the Council Chamber, Hawick Town Hall.

All community council meetings are open to the public and there is always the opportunity to get involved in the work of the community council, whether you are a member or not.

To find out more about community councils,contact Clare Malster on 01835 826626 or