Minto ladies hear the reports for year before enjoying beetle drive

Share this article

DENHOLM: Minto WRI held its annual general meeting earlier this month, when president Mary Beck reported that three new members had joined over the past year. Meetings had been well attended, with a good number of entries for most of the competitions. Sheila Marshall gave the secretary’s report, which was followed by the treasurer’s report from Ann Reid. Once the business was over, there was much laughter as members enjoyed a beetle drive which was won by Jean Amos. The competition for a limerick about any WRI was won by Zilla Oddy; 2, Chris Nichol; 3, Pat Jardine; 4, Dee Baxter. Pat Jardine gained the most points in competitions over the year, with Chris Nicol and Sheila Marshall in second and third respectively. The names of the new committee members were read out following the counting of the voting papers. It was decided that the three hyacinths bulbs for the competition if February could be any colour.

THE Feuars’ and Householders’ Council annual general meeting will be held on Tuesday at 7pm in the church hall.

A TALK entitled ‘Local, foraged or factory-made? How we value food’ by Fi Martynoga will take place in the church hall on Wednesday at 7.30pm.Under her maiden name of Fiona Houston, Fi wrote The Garden Cottage Diaries, which records her experience of living as if in the 18th century. She is editor of the newly-published Handbook of Scotland’s Wild Harvests and is a keen gardener, forager and champion of locally-produced food. Fi will weave all these threads together to paint a fascinating account of food past and present, and the environmental implications of modern-day eating habits. She will also demonstrate some simple, local recipes. This talk is part of a series with funding provided by the Denholm Village Hall Refurbishment Project.

ROBERTON: Retiring WRI president Margaret Anderson welcomed members to the first meeting after the summer break, which was the annual general meeting. The secretary and treasurer reports were read and approved. Cathy Campbell counted the votes. The new committee is as follows: joint presidents, Cathy Campbell and Alison Riddell. Vice-president, Ann Angus. Secretary, Betty Hopkins. Treasurer, Jean Riddell. Press secretary, Kathleen Jackson. Other committee members: Norma Lutus, Frances Munro, Cathy Nichol. Competition for a jar of raspberry jam – 1, Margaret Anderson; 2, Cathy Campbell. Raffle winner – Alison Riddell.

The Mary Balmer Cup was shared by Betty Hopkins and Frances Munro. The Lady Polworth Shield was shared by Jean Riddell and Margaret Anderson. The Thimble was also shared by Ann Angus and Kathleen Jackson. 200 Club (October) – 1, Sarah Johnson; 2, Jim Jackson; 3, Cindy Onslow.

The November 14 meeting will now be a bring and taste night.

WILTON DEAN: The WRI’s October meeting was well attended, and Joyce Tinlin, vice-president, welcomed everyone and intimated apologies. The Rural song was sung before Joyce welcomed demonstrator for the evening, Elaine McKellar, who gave a talk and demonstration on marzipan fruits followed. By the end of the evening each member had made a selection of fruits and the display was one of bright colours and effective shapes. Joyce thanked Elaine for sharing her talents and giving the ladies the opportunity to learn this clever craft. A welcome cup of tea followed and the sales table was well supported. The competition for a turnip lantern was won by Joyce Tinlin. Raffle – Elaine McKellar, Eileen Mercer and Christine Davidson. Relative business was discussed and the result of the voting papers announced. Official business will be covered next month and the new committee formed. Catering for the rural’s 62nd birthday party on Tuesday, November 13, was agreed. The evening ended with everyone taking home a tray of fruit.