Caberston trek sees 50+ Walking Group taking in Kirnie Law and Pirn Craig

Share this article

BRIDGE CLUB: April 9: N/S – 1, P. Gilligan and M. Millar; 2, S. White and J. Urquhart; 3, J. and M. Miller. E/W – 1, M. Tuson and R. Witherington; 2 (equal), K. Auckland and E. Aitken and R. Goldie and M. McLeod

April 11: 1, D. Usher and I. Wyze; 2, P. Gilligan and M. Millar; 3, V. Johnstone and P. Learmonth; 4, M. and H. Dooley.

FIFTY-PLUS WALKING GROUP: Seventeen members left Hawick on a fine morning heading up the Tweed Valley to Walkerburn where they parked by permission at the new Caberston café. On a good track, they followed the Walker Burn up the valley to the old ruin of Priesthope, before continuing into the forest and onwards and upwards at a gentle pace to the shoulder of Kirnie Law where they stopped in the sunshine for lunch with fine views over to Lea Pen and beyond to the hills around Peebles. Fed and watered, they climbed up a forest ride out onto the open hillside to the old holding water tank from bygone days which helped to power the tweed mills in the valley. The walkers then retraced their steps back down onto the forest track, then upwards again for a while before a very steep descent down through the forest to Pirn Craig, where a few of the group climbed up to see the five Millennium stone pillars with sculptured slabs on top. It was then down into Innerleithen and to the river onto a good path which took them back up the valley to Walkerburn where they finished off an enjoyable day with tea and cakes at the café .

Next walk to the Pentlands on April 29. There will also be a less strenuous walk that day.

FILM AND VIDEO GROUP: Last Tuesday’s 48th annual general meeting saw club president Jean Tait chairing the proceedings, and the following office bearers being elected: President, Jean Tait; vice-president, Margaret Keogh; secretary, Bill Neil; treasurer, Peter Horne; syllabus secretary, Jean Tait. Committee: Henry Gray, Irene Hope, Jim Law and Scott Renwick. After the main business of the meeting, Jean Tait presented trophies for the Five-Minute Shield to Henry Gray for his film ‘Wild Scotland’; the Holiday Silver Salver also to Henry for ‘Wales’; and the Gaylor Cup, in respect of the Open competition and the Jean Tait Trophy, to Harry Stoddart for his film ‘1645 Scottish Civil War’ (or the Battle of Philiphaugh).

There will be a summer outing at the end of June, with further details to be announced.

ROTARY CLUB: Vice-president Tommy Mulvee was in the chair at last week’s meeting, and introduced the speakers, Paul Richardson, Scottish Borders Council’s community safety officer, and Penny Burns, NHS Health Improvement Department, both of whom spoke on community safety with particular reference to domestic violence. They showed an excellent short film on the subject which was set in the Borders as they were relating the talk to rural situations. The facts they divulged took members by surprise, namely that one in four women in the UK will experience domestic violence; that two women will be murdered each week in the UK by their husbands/partners; that only fiver per cent of young women feel safe and 93 per cent worry about being raped; that emotional violence can be as damaging as physical violence and that men can also be victims. A woman will only seek help, usually from the police first, after a history of 35 assaults and will leave their abusive partner seven times before making a permanent break; and ten per cent of men are abusers. Recently, £1.3million has been awarded to Scottish Borders Council to set up a pilot domestic abuse service, the first of its kind in Scotland, that will embody a multi-agency approach involving the police, fire and health service and the procurator fiscal’s department to tackle the problem. Domestic abuse takes many different guises, including actual violence, emotional, sexual and financial impropriety. A White Ribbon Campaign to end male violence to women has had excellent support from many bodies such as UK soccer clubs and the Welsh RFU. A lively and deep question session then followed, after which Kerr Scott gave the club’s vote of thanks.