Labour’s Grieve throws hat into ring

Labour candidate Michael Grieve
Labour candidate Michael Grieve
Have your say

THE local Labour party has chosen Burnfoot resident Michael Grieve as their candidate to stand for election in the Hawick and Denholm ward next year.

The 43-year old was successfully chosen to represent the Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk constituency labour party at a recent meeting, and having since been endorsed by the Scottish Co-operative Party - will stand jointly as a Labour and Co-operative Party candidate at the Scottish Borders Council elections next May.

He told the Hawick News: “I am proud to be selected as the candidate in Hawick and Denholm at the elections next year. Being able to stand under the banner of Labour and Co-operative will allow me to put forward the many policies the Co-operative Party have which would benefit the people of Hawick and Denholm, and indeed the Scottish Borders as a whole.”

Michael, currently the chair of the Constituency Labour Party, added: “The Local Labour Party is busy writing a manifesto in which the people of the Borders will be able to clearly see where we stand on the major issues affecting the area.”

Michael has spent most of his adult life in the Borders; most recently in Burnfoot. He is married to Claire and they have three children Andrew, Esther and Fiona. Andrew is in his first year at Abertay University and Esther and Fiona are at Hawick High School.

Michael is involved in many local committees, including the school parent council, Burnfoot Community Council and, most recently, joined Hawick-Common Riding Committee. He is a full-time carer for his wife.

Hawick’s Jim Anderson, treasurer of the Berwickshire, Roxburgh, Selkirk and Constituency Labour Party, commented: “We are happy that Michael will be standing next year, as he has been a member for years and was particularly active during campaigning for the general and Scottish elections. We will be fully behind our candidate for the elections in May.”

The Hawick and Denholm ward is currently served by Councillors Zandra Elliot (Conservative), Stuart Marshall (Independent) and Jock Houston (Lib Dem).